Magistrate Courts handle a variety of criminal cases stemming from alleged violations of the laws of the State of Georgia as well as alleged violations of County Ordinances. Cases are brought to us from various law enforcement agencies, including Georgia Bureau of Investigation, Georgia State Patrol and other State Departments with citation powers, Pike County Sheriff’s Office, Zebulon and Molena Municipalities, and other State and County Officers (i.e., State Dept. of Agriculture, Animal Control Officer(s), Building & Zoning Officer(s), etc.) with citation and search and seizure powers. We regularly hold hearings on arrest warrant applications, search warrant applications, as well as First Appearance Hearings, Bond Hearings, and Preliminary Hearings in felony and misdemeanor cases in which a warrant has issued. Magistrates may dismiss warrants for lack of probable cause or, where probable cause is confirmed, the Magistrate will bind warrants over to Superior Court for possible prosecution. Magistrate Court may handle and dispose of certain misdemeanor charges including, but not limited to, Deposit Account Fraud cases, as well as County Ordinance violations.
ARRESTS UNDER STATE WARRANT
First Appearance and Bond Hearings are held Monday through Friday at 9:00 a.m. and 3:45 p.m., and on Saturdays at 6:00 p.m. when needed. Persons arrested prior to the issuance of a warrant must be brought before a judge within 48 hours of arrest. Persons arrested after the issuance must be brought before a judge within 72 hours of arrest. You may call the Pike County Jail or the Pike County Magistrate Court to inquire about a First Appearance or Bond Hearing schedule.
Preliminary Hearings are held every Thursday at 2:00 p.m. to examine and confirm probable cause for the issuance of arrest warrants. The date of the Preliminary Hearing is announced at the First Appearance Hearing, scheduling enough time for the accused to retain an attorney and the both attorneys enough time to review the case. This hearing may be waived by the accused, by the accused’s attorney, or simply by making bond and failing to confirm on or by the scheduled Preliminary Hearing date announced at the First Appearance Hearing. Waiver of the Preliminary Hearing by any of these actions or in-actions will result in the existing warrants being transferred to Superior Court for further examination and possible prosecution. All who have not posted Bond by their scheduled Preliminary Hearing date will be provided an opportunity for a Preliminary Hearing and, if requested, bond reconsideration. If you have posted bond, please confirm or waive your Preliminary Hearing by the Wednesday before your scheduled hearing date. You may call 770-567-2004 to confirm or waive said hearing.
COUNTY ORDINANCE VIOLATIONS
If you have received a County Ordinance Violation Citation, your case will be placed on the County Ordinance Arraignment Calendar for the second Wednesday of the month following the month the citation was issued. The call of the Arraignment Calendar begins at 10:00 a.m. each second Wednesday. Some cases may be resolved before or at arraignment, while others will need to proceed to trial. Trials are held on the third Thursday of each month beginning at 10:00 a.m.
PRE-TRIAL DIVERSION SCHEDULE OF FINES & FEES
ONLY AVAILABLE FOR FIRST CITATIONS – Court Appearance may be Required Thereafter
Note: If a citation proceeds to Court, the minimum Court Costs is $70.00 which will be assessed at arraignment or trial. Fines may differ from those posted if, in the Judge’s discretion, the circumstances warrant a higher or lower fine. Mandatory State Fees (MSF) are included in the amount below; Court Costs are not included.
Section 130.01 – Disorderly Conduct $359.00
Per this County Ordinance, Disorderly Conduct may include any of the following:
- Acts in a violent or tumultuous manner toward another person; or
- Acts in a violent or tumultuous manner toward another person’s property; or
- Use of “fighting words”; or
- Public Intoxication
- Indecent Language
- Inappropriate Congregation
- Illegal/fraudulent schemes
- Deliberate obstruction of the flow of vehicular and/or pedestrian traffic
- Property Damage
Section 130.02 – Disorderly House $359.00
Section 130.03 – Drinking in Public $359.00
Section 130.04 – Possession of Open Container Of Alcohol or Misdemeanor Possession of Marijuana in Public $359.00
Section 130.05 – Possession of Alcohol or Misdemeanor Possession of Marijuana by Person under Age of 21: *Defendant MUST appear at arraignment on a violation of 130.05.
Section 130.06 – Loitering and Prowling $359.00
Section 130.07 – Abandonment of Motor Vehicles $359.00
Section 130.08 – Simple Assault $359.00
Section 130.09 – Simple Battery $359.00 plus Restitution
Section 130.10 – Criminal Trespass $359.00 plus Restitution
Section 130.11 – Misdemeanor Shoplifting, Theft and Theft of Services $497.00 plus Restitution
Section 130.12 – False Reports of Crimes & False Alarms $359.00
Section 130.13 – Obstruction of Law Enforcement $359.00
Section 130.14 – Permitting or Contributing to the Delinquency of Minors $997.00 and 12 Months Probation – Reporting for 6 months
Section 130.15 – Curfew for Minors $359.00
Section 91 – Animal Control – (click to go to page)
If you have any questions regarding ANY County Ordinances, please visit the Pike County Government’s website. The Ordinances may be found at: Pike County Ordinances Please note: Contact the Commissioner’s Office to ensure the most recent Ordinances are posted. Their number is (770) 567-3506.